Auntie Laura’s Gufong (a Cape Verdean favorite!)

by nuala

Nobody makes gufong (also known as fungine) like Auntie Laura. I remember going to her house as a child and smiling upon her freshly fried gufong. For holidays or special occasions, her gufong would be the most sought after Cape Verdean dish. Before Auntie Laura’s Alzheimers got really bad, she taught her daughter and nieces how to make it. We actually filmed the process. I’ll have to dig up that old tape!

Recently, I made gufong with my Nana (Laura’s sister-in-law), Shirley (Nana’s god daughter) and sister in my Nana’s kitchen. We don’t really believe in keeping a family recipe a secret, so please feel free to try it on your own. Just thank our Auntie Laura, one of the sweetest aunts I’ve ever known.

Instructions

Put in small pot:

1 ½  cup of sugar

1 cup of boiling water with a pinch of salt

Add water and sugar mixture onto stove and stir til smooth.

In a medium-large bowl:

Add enough water to one cup of cornmeal to make paste.

Pour the  water/sugar mixture from stove.

Add 2- 3 mashed over ripe bananas and mix by hand until smooth.

Add 2 cups of Bisquick and 2 cups of sifted flour, gradually.

Add flour until consistency of bread dough.

Roll into sticks and fry on either side in vegetable or canola oil until golden brown. (Make sure heat is not too hot or else it will brown the outside, but not the inside!)

Place on paper towels and store in sealed plastic bags or containers after cool, so they stay soft.

This recipe makes about sixty gufong.  My Auntie Laura used to freeze the dough and make fresh gufong often… Nana just told me this. :)

10 Responses to Auntie Laura’s Gufong (a Cape Verdean favorite!)

  1. angel says:

    Thank you for posting your video and this recipe. I feel connected to find more Cape Verdean people. I miss my Nana. She was from Brava Island. Thank you for sharing.

  2. April Vieira Patrick says:

    I love this site.. I will definitely try some of these recipes.. Especially love this clip, with Nana and my cousins..:))

  3. bags says:

    plastic bags…

    […]Auntie Laura’s Gufong (a Cape Verdean favorite!) « The Cool Cooks[…]…

  4. Carlita says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. My great grandmother and her son (my grandfather) made the best gufong, watching your video made me reminisce on those days. I think I will start a new tradition with my daughter and begin teaching her the old Cape Verdean recipes to keep the tradition in the family.

  5. sandy says:

    im doing a project about capeverdians food and my grandma told me this is one of capeverdians food. im 16 year old and im in high school.my teacher told us to make our own restaurant menu. what details can i put under the foods name? i really need help! thank you.

  6. Wendy says:

    Im so glad I found this!!! I am not Cape Verdean but my daughetrs father is an his grandmother ( who is no longer here) use to make this all the time an it was my favorite!! I used to search the internet all the time tryin to find a recipe for it an couldn’t! I always asked him if they knew her recipe and he didn’t. I remember she would day you could make it with potato or banana but she always made it with banana’s!! Yum cant wait to make this!!!

  7. Vanessa Holley says:

    Tried this recipe and couldn’t stop eating them. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

