Patrice’s Avocado Salad

Recipe by Patrice Berry
IMG_7524

Recently I was at Rashid’s house for dinner and his friend Patrice started to eat this big bowl of salad. I thought it was odd that she was eating out of a bowl I assumed was for everyone, but then I realized it was her dinner. Nevertheless, she shared some with me… and it was amaaaazing! I immediately understood why and how she could eat a big bowl of salad for her dinner. (I’m not a huge salad person if you can’t tell. And I always need to throw something sweet in it, like candied pecans or fruit). Anyway, thank YOU Patrice for sharing this recipe with me. Thanks to you my mother will know I’m eating veggies more often! (Yes, I’m 28 and she still cares about this.)

Ingredients:
1 Bag of Spring Green Lettuce
1 Avocado sliced up into small pieces
A few spoonfuls of Fetta Cheese
A few spoonfuls of dried cranberries (optional)
Candied Pecans (optional)
Trader Joe’s Poppy Seed Dressing

Wait until your ready to eat it to put the salad dressing in it. Otherwise it will just get all soggy.

 Candied Pecans (for the sweet tooths!)

Ingredients:
Butter
Brown Sugar
Orange Juice
Vanilla
Pecans

Instructions:
Crush the pecans up a bit. In a pan on medium heat melt a couple of tsps of butter, add brown sugar, orange juice and pecans. Add the vanilla and stir over medium heat for a few minutes.
Once the pecans are in a thick syrup, pour out the entire mixture onto a baking sheet and put into the oven for 2-3 minutes on 200 degrees. Don’t over bake! Then cover the tray with a paper towel and throw it in the freezer for a couple of minutes. When you take it out the pecans should be glazed over, dry and crispy.  If you make too many just save the extra pecans in a small tuppeware and keep it in the fridge… you can use em for another salad another day!  ~nu

Leave a Reply

